Marketing yourself as a writer

So yesterday, I did something that I’ve been meaning to do for awhile now. I ordered business cards for my writing business. Yes, I know – I could have done it cheaper and created them myself, but I figured that whenever I market my writing business, I should do it right. So I ordered the cards.

Do I need business cards? I honestly don’t know. I have done well gaining clients through sources like kijiji and elance and even by referrals. In fact, most of my clients have hired me before ever even meeting me in person – so I would not have had the opportunity to hand them a business card.

Still – I wanted the cards. If they turn out to be useful, that might be a topic for another blog post.

As my business has grown from a casual hobby to a respectable side gig, I have taken a number of steps to better market my writing business.

I’ve advertised on kijiji which has been very successful.

I hired a contractor from elance to create my logo.

I’ve made a point of making regular posts on Facebook, Twitter and Google +.

I’ve started this website and blog.

And now, I will soon have business cards which I can hand to people when they ask me what I do or when I am at networking events.

It’s not always easy or convenient to promote my freelance writing. There are times when I get so mired in work from clients, that I tend to focus on that to the exclusion of my personal marketing. But I know that it’s something that I do need to work on.

I’d be curious to hear from other freelancers. How to you market yourself as a writer?

Leave a Reply

