Writing with distractions

A quick question for my fellow bloggers – when you sit down to write, is it always sitting properly at your desk, free from distractions? Or do you prefer to write in a more relaxed manner? Like listening to music or even watching a movie (which I am doing right now).

Since I started my copywriting business, I’ve been pretty disciplined in setting aside time each day and aiming for a minimum word count goal that I’ve set for myself. I usually treat this like “a job” to get the most out of my writing time.

But sometimes… sometimes… words just  seem to flow better when I’ve got my laptop literally on my lap – leaning back on the couch – and in my case, right now, watching Hope Springs.

Your thoughts? Do you find a change of environment – or even distractions help with your writing?

Leave a Reply

