Friday Fun – Writing Drunk – A Good Idea?

Live to Write - Write to Live

Friday Fun is a group post from the writers of the NHWN blog. Each week, we’ll pose and answer a different, get-to-know-us question. We hope you’ll join in by providing your answer in the comments.

QUESTION: Hemingway famously said, “Write drunk; edit sober.”  What are your thoughts on this approach? Does it work for you – either metaphorically or literally?

headshot_jw_thumbnailJamie Wallace: I’m a little apprehensive about answering this one. Philosophically, I embrace Hemingway’s advice whole-heartedly – in the metaphorical sense. Truth be told, however, I don’t always follow it. I am chronically guilty of editing while writing. It’s a habit I am working on breaking, but which still plagues me on a daily basis.

I have also taken Hemingway’s advice in the literal sense. Well, perhaps not “drunk,” but definitely tipsy. There have been several occasions on which I have written a column or blog post after having a…

View original post 360 more words

2 thoughts on “Friday Fun – Writing Drunk – A Good Idea?

Leave a Reply

