On the Side – Running a Successful Side Business When You Are Not Ready to Leave Your Job

When my current employer was interviewing me for the first time, he asked me if I had an entrepreneurial bent as it would be beneficial toward my success in the position. I told him that I did. And that’s the truth. Over the past ten years, I’ve had a brief stint with an MLM, a business in which I made and sold vericomposters and my present business of freelance writing and social media management.

I’ve always thought that someday, I might venture out into exclusive entrepreneurship – and someday I still might.

But today, I find myself with a full time job and a full time successful business. And the truth is that I still love my job and I’m not ready to leave.

So the question is, how do I manage both?
Here are a few tips that I’ve learned so far:

Manage Your Time

I’ll be the first to admit that I am not “a list person” but lately I’ve found that lists have been a real lifesaver and timesaver. I make a list of things that I want to accomplish each day and then stroke them off the list as I progress.

I’m careful not to put an unrealistic amount of “to dos” on my list as I want to make sure I have the sense of accomplishment that comes from stroking off all the items.

I also set clear parameters around my job time and my business time – respecting both! I will not rob my employer of his time but equally important, I refuse to rob myself of time set aside to work on my business.

Get help when you need it

There is only so much time in the day so it makes sense to hire help! There have been times in my business when I have gotten so busy that I have needed to hire administrative help on a contract basis. I no longer view this as cutting into my profits but rather an essential investment to better serve my clients and preserve my sanity!

Let unimportant things slide

Again, there is only so much time in the day. Up until recently, I have been an avid contester. Actually I still like to contest – and yes, I have won several fairly decent prizes including 3 tablets, 2 barbeques, a cell phone and a $2000 shopping spree.

But with the growth of my business, contesting has taken a back seat. And that’s ok.

Make time for the important

I don’t think it’s an understatement to say that between my job and my business that I could work 24 hours a day. But if I did that, life would probably not be very fun – not to mention it could mean sacrificing health as well as relationships.

So I deliberately make sure that I have time for other important things in my life such as church, going out with friends, having date nights with my husband and attending my martial arts class on a regular basis.

And yes, to me these are ALL important.

So there it is – I love my job – I love my business – and for now at least, I’m doing what it takes to manage both.

Leave a Reply

